Water those Strawberries!

Admittedly, I’m not much of a gardener.  But I’m definitely trying.  I was checking out Apartment Therapy & saw a post on planting and ordering seeds.  Ack!  I guess we need to start planning out our veg garden. I’m checking out the Seed Savers Exchange to see what’s available.

Last year, our first summer in the house, we planted mostly roses, flowers in the ground and potted tomatoes, strawberries,  raspberry, eggplant, and some herbs.  It went OK, but not an organized garden.  My b-f DJ works with a lanscaping co. so he’s the green thumb of the group.  He kept everything living, even when I under-watered the strawberries this summer, so I’m hoping I do better this year. (Seriously I took care of the strawberries for like 2 days and they looked like someone sat on the plant, poor thing couldn’t even stand up on its own.  DJ watered it and the plant came back, good as new and is living inside for the winter!)

What are your thoughts for the veg garden?  Has anyone starting planning/ordering already?  Am I really behind the times?

2 responses to this post.

  1. As a child my grandfather (who was raised on a farm in Georgia) had a vegetable garden every year. We enjoyed fresh tomatoes, zucchini, squash, watermelon, cabbage, greens. etc. It was great always having something fresh on the table. I have tried vegetable gardening only on a small scale with tomatoes in containers and have gotten mixed results (last year there was definitely too much rain which ruined them). I really get into flower gardening though and like to try new plants each year. In fact I need to start thinking about what I am going to cut back and what new plants I would like to plant. I have been struggling with roses though and they are the thorn in my side, no pun intended. Do you have any suggestions for proper rose care?

    Reply

    • Posted by Deb on January 14, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      Yeah, I heard the tomatoes had a rough time b/c of all the rain last year. It wasn’t too bad in Chicago, so I think we lucked out. Hmm, for the roses, DJ got me a book, I can’t remember the name, but I’ll check it & send the title. It has a listing of care and photos of a ton of rose varieties! Basically what I got from it is that roses need attention – watering amounts, pruning. The book I have talked about “training” your roses to grow a certain way (like making an archway) – it sounded awesome & way out of my league!!

      We also bought a rose bush w/ rose hips right before fall that is in a pot still. The rose hips look pretty cool after the roses are gone! Mostly we had our success in keeping the flowers trimmed and making sure the bush wasn’t getting lopsided! Got to get the name of that book…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

