The makings of a color palette

How do you pick a color palette?  What draws you immediately to certain colors?  Are there examples of other things in nature, in fashion, online or elsewhere that strike a cord?

I love color.  It’s such a quick way to change a mood and feeling of anything – from paper goods to lighting to consumer electronics.  Often I’m struck by an image and pull colors from it.

Next, from these color palettes, I’ll pull together some inspirational images and sketch out ideas for putting together a color package to develop into an actual design!

One response to this post.

  1. Hmm! That’s a great question! Some of my more successful palettes have been guilt around one color that I was totally obsessed with. Then I pull another color that takes the palette in the direction I want it to, and then I fill in with other colors to add contrast and value depth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

