Color Palette Expanded

I love color.  Truly, one of my favorite things to do is talk about color.  It touches so many aspects of our day and I am always inspired by the infinite number of combinations you can imagine. Yesterday, I put together two color palettes pulled from some images I had taken at the Chicago Botanical Garden and at the Philadelphia Museum of Art.  I really like the muted colors of the Museum Architecture board, so I’ve taken that one to the next steps –  finding some inspirational images and sketching out ideas to develop into an actual design.

From here, I like to check out decorative papers to consider what works corresponds for the style.  Should the overall design be more organic modern, or traditional?  Is size and texture of papers important?  What I’m looking for is really the “wow.”  Here are a couple of papers that speak to an organic modern style and a traditional style, without being overtly matchy-matchy with the color palette.

© Paper Mojo

© Paper Mojo

Both decorative papers have a little bit of whimsy, but they are quite different stylistically.

For a wedding, next I’d consider what details, dresses, and accessories would be chosen.  It helps to define the style without having to say it in words.  The first two beautiful pieces were found on Etsy, which is a hugely diverse source of inspiration.

© Portobello

© Little White Dresser

© JCrew

© Nicole Miller - Neiman Marcus

© J Crew

Leave a Reply

